top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Andrews

The Bengals Pride 2023 Award Winners Announced

Bengalis have been rewarded and acknowledged for their substantial contribution to healthcare, finance, politics, education and the arts. Now in its fifth year, The Bengals Pride Awards is a unique platform where East and West Bengal come together to recognise the best in their community.

The ceremony at the historic Churchill Hall, House of Commons, is dedicated to celebrating the achievements of the Bengali ethnic community from India and Bangladesh. The community has, for decades, contributed to growth not just across South Asia but right across the globe. Many Bengalis like Dr. Amartya Sen, Dr. Abhijit Binayak Sen, Dr. Inus Khan, Saurav Ganguly, Shakib Al Hasan have made a substantial global footprint, but have never been recognised by the community.

The third largest ethnic group and one of the most prominent culture groups in the world, nearly half a million Bengali ethnic communities from India and Bangladesh live in the United Kingdom and have not only achieved success in the restaurant business but have also achieved success in other important sectors such as the medical sector and the import-export retail market.

Rajesh Agarwal, Deputy Lord Mayor of London said: “It is truly an honour to attend the Bengali’s Pride Awards 2023. Many congratulations to all the winners, who are the bright stars and an inspiration, not just for the global Bengali community but for everyone."

"The Bengali community in London has contributed to every single aspect of London and British life – food, art, culture, economy, sports, media and politics.”

Bangladesh High Commissioner H E Ms Saida Muna Tasneem said: “I congratulate the Advatech Bengali Pride Award Winners for 2023 for community work, philanthropy, women entrepreneurs, sports and many more catagories. What is special about this award is that it recognises brilliance and talent of Bengali people from both India and Bangladesh.”

The Advatech Foundation founded these awards intending to recognise Benglis for their endeavours globally whilst helping provide education for children, young persons and adults resident anywhere in the world, particularly in India and Bangladesh.

Awards founder and Adavtech Foundation Trustee, Samit Biswas commented: ""I am delighted to announce our winners, it's absolutely brilliant to see the community come together and be celebrated. These awards show us just how important it is to recognise Bengalis' efforts and contributions, transforming lives and contributions to economies."

The winners included:

1. Lifetime Achievement Award: Ratan Tata

2. Pride of Bengal: Chandra Shekhar Ghosh

3. Entrepreneur of the Year: Jaydeep Barman

4. Achievement in Community Work: Jane Richter

5. Business Person of the Year: Supratim Bose

6. Achievement in Art and Media: Anita Bose

7. Sports Person of the Year: Raj Chaudhuri

8. Health and Social Care: Dr Madhushree Ghosh

9. Sir David Amess Memorial Award: Chalkwell Lifeguards

10. Women Entrepreneur of the Year: Rushna Miah

bottom of page