top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Andrews

Further Champions Crowned At British National Cyclo-Cross Championships

The final national champions were crowned on the second day of the 2024 British National Cyclo-cross Championships to round off a sensational weekend of racing in Falkirk.

In the veteran categories, Paul Oldham, Kate Eedy, Alison Kinlock and Nicola Davies took victories, while Milo Wills, Peggy Knox, Guy Rorke and Olivia Poole were crowned the youth winners on a bright but freezing day at Callendar Park.


A tense under-16 open race saw Milo Wills (GKR Racing) cling on to the national title after a late crash saw him lose 40 seconds. Wills was the quickest off the line, and clocked a blistering first lap to be 20 seconds up on the field. Jody Mills (Inspire Racing Adaston Scape) was chasing behind, but couldn’t get close to Wills. A gaining Noah White (Mid Shropshire Wheelers) overtook Mills to sit in the silver medal position in the third lap. Despite a crash in the final lap, which saw his handlebars snap, Wills was able to compose himself and still finish 40 seconds ahead of White, who put in a valiant effort ahead of Mills in third.

Peggy Knox (VICIOUS VELO) continued to show her dominance from the National Trophy Series to take her second national title in the under-16 female race. Knox won with ease, going from the gun to stay in front the entire race. She was joined on the podium by Aelwen Davies (TORQ Performance) in silver and Freya Mowbray (Scotia Offroad Race Team) in bronze.

Guy Rorke (Peebles CC) battled and Rhuairdh Fulton (West Lothian Clarion CC) early on in the under-14 open race, before storming to the win in the closing stages to be crowned the national champion by 45 seconds. Fulton and Rorke were neck-and-neck early on, tussling for the front position. A crash saw Fulton lose his momentum, and he was overtaken by Wilfred Pugh (One Life Racing Hexham). Pugh clung on to take the silver medal, while Fulton had to settle for bronze on the day after a brilliant effort.

In the under-14 female race, Olivia Poole (Deeside Thistle CC) used the momentum from her National Trophy Series win to take the national crown. The Scottish rider rode with determination to take the victory, finishing just over 40 seconds ahead of second place Emma Knox (Verulam – Eva Gibson (4T+ Cyclopark) finished in a comfortable third to round off the podium.


Paul Oldham (Hope Tech Factory Racing) led from the off in the over-40 veteran open race, finishing 30 seconds ahead of a closing Lewis Craven (Wheelbase CabTech Castelli), while Adrian Lansley ( took the bronze after a fantastic ride.

Kate Eedy (Team Empella) also demonstrated her dominance in the over-40 veteran female race, leading from the first lap to take an incredible solo win.

Helen Jackson (Kendal Cycle Club) crossed the line second to secure her place on the podium, while Jennifer Andrews (Cycle Club Ashwell) came home in the bronze medal position.

In the combined over-50 and 60 veteran female race, Alison Kinloch (Shibden Cycling Club) crossed the line first to take the title ahead of Reifen Racing’s Lucy Siddle, with the two working together throughout the race, and Kinloch just pinching the win in a sprint to the line. Helen Pattinson (Montezuma’s Race Team) finished third to round off the over-50 podium, while Nicola Davies ( took the over-60 title. Sally Reid (Magspeed Racing) and Elizabeth Clayton (RT23) claimed silver and bronze respectively after battling the cold conditions.

Full Podium Results

Veteran over-40 open

  1. Paul Oldham

  2. Lewis Craven

  3. Adrian Lansley

Veteran Over-40 Female

  1. Kate Eedy

  2. Helen Jackson

  3. Jennifer Andrews

Veteran Over-50 Female

  1. Alison Kinlock

  2. Lucy Siddle

  3. Helen Pattinson

Veteran Over-60 Female

  1. Nicola Davies

  2. Sally Reid

  3. Elizabeth Clayton

Under-16 Open

  1. Milo Wills

  2. Noah White

  3. Jody Mills

Under-16 Female

  1. Peggy Knox

  2. Aelwen Davies

  3. Freya Mowbray

Under-14 Open

  1. Guy Rorke

  2. Wilfred Pugh

  3. Rhuairdh Fulton

Under-14 Female

  1. Olivia Poole

  2. Emma Knox

  3. Eva Gibson

Photo Credit: SWPix


bottom of page