top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda Andrews - Editorial Assistant, Nuse Online

BAHA Recognition Awards 2024 Are Launched

The 2024 Bournemouth Area Hotel Association (BAHA) Recognition Awards have officially been launched. Those in the industry will find out who the winners are at a ceremony to be held at Bournemouth’s Marsham Court Hotel in October.

The awards celebrate the loyalty and hard work of all staff members across the industry from every level.

NFU Mutual New Forest, IOW & Bournemouth agency has been secured as the headline sponsor for the awards.

Darren Seward from the agency said:

“We are NFU Mutual’s largest hospitality agency in the UK. This sponsorship allows us to give a bit back to the sector. With us, insurance is personal and we understand the issues that hospitality faces."

“We look after B&Bs and cafes right through to some of the biggest hotels in the area.”

Prior to the official launch at the Captain’s Club Hotel and Spa in Christchurch, Tim Seward, outgoing BAHA chair, handed over the reins to Rosie Radwell at the AGM. He gave an overview of his four years in the hot seat which saw the industry devastated by the Covid pandemic. And latterly a lack of workers and cost of living crisis has put extra pressure on the hospitality sector in the conurbation.

Despite the challenging conditions, it was heard how BAHA has been instrumental in delivering government-funded projects.

These include staff training, defibrillators being put in hotels, marketing campaigns and the youth mobility scheme to help increase the number hospitality staff. Tim said:

“I am proud of what we have achieved together as a committee over the last four years. We are now facing a further challenge with the cost of living; however, we are working collaboratively on solutions to help our industry’s future."

“Although we have had many challenges as hoteliers, BAHA has led the way in what I understand has been the biggest journey the association has seen for a number of years, and we should all be proud of what we have accomplished.”

New chair Rosie, who runs the Marsham Court Hotel, said:

“The committee members volunteer a lot of their time to make the area better for all and the work they have all accomplished over the last four years, under Tim Seward’s leadership, has been immense."

“Looking forward, we will continue to build on the work that has been accomplished and will begin exciting new projects. NFU Mutual Bournemouth have agreed to be our sole headline sponsor for the next three years for the BAHA Recognition Awards, which shows what importance they place on them.”

Rosie said things she would be focusing on include collaborating with the Destination Management Board (DMB), the four Business Improvement Districts (BIDs) and BCP Council - and for the hotel industry to lead the way towards an Accommodation BID.

She also wants to create an events calendar for the BCP area, to work more closely with the wider region and make sure it is represented through a Local Visitor Economy Programme (LVEP), and to continue to promote the industry to young people as a career.

BAHA’s officers for 2024/25 are:

• Chair: Rosie Radwell, Marsham Court Hotel

• Vice Chair: Theo Iakimov, Miramar Hotel

• Vice Chair: Michael Matthews, Hilton Hotel Bournemouth

• President: David Bailey, Hospitality professional

• Past Chair: Tim Seward, Holiday Inn Bournemouth

• Treasurer: Zoe Westwood

The committee for 2024/25 are:

• Jacqueline Entwistle, Real Recruitment Solutions

• Sandra Graham, Trethowans Solicitors

• Tim Lloyd, Captain’s Club Christchurch

• Des Simmons, Bournecoast

• Andrew Slaney, East Cliff Cottage

• Mike Harrison, Hospitality Professional

• Darren Seward, NFU Mutual

• Carlo De Rosa, Ibis Styles

• Eytan Krips, Hotel Collingwood

• Dr C. Giousmpasoglou (Babis), Bournemouth University

• Claire Clarke, Bournemouth & Poole College

• James Dixon-Box, Marsham Court Hotel


bottom of page